top of page

School Council


Bentleigh West Primary School Council oversees the school as directed by the  Education and Training Reform Act 2006 and Regulations set down by the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DEECD).


The Council consists of elected parent and community members, staff members and the Principal, who meet at least eight times a year.


The School Council, as the official management body of the school, is charged with the responsibility of developing educational policies, maintaining the facilities and grounds, overseeing financial operations and ensuring a quality education for all our students. 

The three specific areas of responsibility for the Council are:

  • Finance – overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation.

  • Strategic Planning – participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan.

  • Policy Development and Review – developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect a school’s values and support the school’s broad direction outlined in its strategic plan.


School Council elections are held every year, when approximately one half of School Council members retire. Members are normally voted onto School Council for two years.



School Council Sub-Committees

The School Council is supported by a strong sub-committee structure to ensure closer management and planning for key areas of the school. These sub-committees include Management, Communications, School Grounds & Environment, and Parents & Friends.


Parents do not have to be a member of School Council to be a member of a subcommittee, however a School Council member must be present at Subcommittee meetings.

Bentleigh West Primary School
School Council members

Our 2024 School Council members are:

Tania Galbraith - President

Eddy Etyngold - Vice President

Stuart Coulthard - Treasurer

Rachael-Anne Burgin - Minute Taker

Sarah Asome - Executive Officer

Yasmin Coulthard - Co-opted member (P&F Representative)

Hannah Bush

Brooke Day

Shae Langford-Jones

Sarah McLean

Anita Pedrana

Anna Rosenberg

Carmen Tyler

Narelle Whiteley

Adrian Whitley

bottom of page